How long do portable power stations last?

Short answer: It depends which "last" you mean. Runtime per charge depends on watt-hours and load. Lifespan depends on battery chemistry. For example, EcoFlow rates the LiFePO4 DELTA 2 at 3,000+ cycles and Anker rates the LiFePO4 SOLIX C1000 at 3,000 cycles to 80% capacity. Goal Zero rates its NMC Yeti 1500X at 500 cycles to 80%.
Two meanings of “how long”
People ask this question in two ways. One is how many hours a full charge runs your devices. The other is how many years the battery lasts before it wears out.
Runtime per charge depends on capacity (Wh) and the load (W). A rough formula is runtime ≈ Wh × 0.85 ÷ watts, where 0.85 allows for inverter losses. For worked examples, see what a 1000Wh power station can run or use the power station size calculator.
The rest of this guide covers lifespan.
How many cycles does a power station last?
Lifespan is rated in charge cycles. One cycle is a full charge and full drain. Two half-drains count as about one cycle.
| Model (maker spec) | Chemistry | Rated cycles | Warranty as stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 | LiFePO4 | 3,000+ full cycles | 5 years |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 | LiFePO4 | 3,000 to 80% | 5 years |
| Goal Zero Yeti 1500X | NMC lithium-ion | 500 to 80% | 2 years in spec list |
EcoFlow’s page does not tie the 3,000+ figure to a capacity level, though it separately claims 80% capacity after 10 years of daily use. Goal Zero’s page also mentions “up to 5 year warranty” elsewhere, so check terms before buying. Its 500-cycle rating was tested at 25°C with full charge and discharge.
What does “to 80% capacity” mean?
The battery does not die at the rated cycle count. It just holds less. A 1,000Wh unit at 80% capacity stores about 800Wh. So it still works, but each charge runs your devices about 20% shorter.
How many years is that?
Years of use = rated cycles ÷ cycles per year. The columns below use the ratings from the spec sheets we checked; other models may be rated differently.
| Use pattern | Cycles/year | 3,000-cycle LiFePO4 | 500-cycle NMC |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monthly (outages, trips) | 12 | 250 years | 41.7 years |
| Weekly (camping, RV) | 52 | 57.7 years | 9.6 years |
| Daily (solar, off-grid) | 365 | 8.2 years | 1.4 years |
EcoFlow describes the DELTA 2 as giving “10 years of daily use” before reaching 80%. That is close to the 8.2-year math above.
Treat the large numbers as cycle math only. Lithium batteries also age with time, heat and storage conditions. Electronics, fans and ports can fail first. For light users, the warranty and the unit’s build quality matter more than the cycle rating.
How should you store a power station?
For example, two makers advise:
- Anker (C1000): Turn off all outputs. Store it dry and cool. Check the charge weekly. If it drops below 30%, charge to 100%. Fully charge it at least every 3 months.
- Goal Zero (Yeti 1500X): Charge every 3 to 6 months.
A unit left fully drained for months can be hard to revive. Set a phone reminder to top it off.
Can you charge a power station in the cold?
Not below freezing, for the models below. Check your own unit’s spec sheet.
| Model | Charging temp | Use/discharge temp |
|---|---|---|
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 | Not stated on product page | Not stated on product page |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 | 32°F to 104°F | -4°F to 104°F |
| Goal Zero Yeti 1500X | Not stated | 32°F to 104°F (operating) |
If the unit sat in a cold garage or car, bring it indoors and let it warm above 32°F before charging. Do not charge it near a heater or in direct summer sun inside a vehicle. Keep it away from water, and never cover the vents while it runs.
Quick answers
How long does a power station last on one charge? It depends on capacity and load. Roughly, divide watt-hours times 0.85 by the watts you draw.
How many years will a LiFePO4 power station last? It depends on the model’s rating. For example, at one cycle a day, a 3,000-cycle rating like the Anker SOLIX C1000’s works out to about 8 years to 80% capacity. Lighter use stretches that much longer, though calendar aging still applies.
Is LiFePO4 better than NMC for lifespan? Among the spec sheets we checked, yes. The two LiFePO4 models above are rated about 3,000 cycles; the NMC Yeti 1500X is rated 500. Ratings vary by model, so compare spec sheets.
How often should I charge a stored power station? For example, Anker says at least every 3 months for the C1000. Goal Zero says every 3 to 6 months for the Yeti 1500X.
Can I charge a power station below freezing? Not for the models we checked. For example, Anker lists 32°F as the C1000’s minimum charging temperature. Warm the unit up first.
What warranty do power stations come with? EcoFlow DELTA 2 and Anker SOLIX C1000 list 5 years. Goal Zero’s Yeti 1500X spec list shows 2 years.